Community Town Councils and Councillors

Community / Town Councils are the most local level of government in England and Wales. They are independent of other levels of local government, i.e. County Borough Council, however they maintain a close working relationship with them. Within the County Borough Boundary of Rhondda Cynon Taf there are eleven Community Councils and one Town Council based in Pontypridd.

Town/Community Councillors have an active interest and concern for their local community. They represent local people and work in partnership with them and others when necessary. They help facilitate the provision of local services and facilities and take decisions that form the policy of their Council.

Town/Community Councillors are not paid and have to abide by a Local Government Code of Conduct and declare their financial interests. Town/Community Councillors must also declare a personal or prejudicial interest in any matter under discussion at a community/town council meeting.

Contact details for local Town/Community Councils

Ynysybwl and Coed y Cam Community Council

Rhigos Community Council

Hirwaun and Penderyn Community Council

Pontypridd Town Council

Llantwit Fadre Community Council

Llantrisant Community Council

Llanharan Community Council

Llanharry Community Council

Tonyrefail Community Council

Gilfach Goch Community Council

Pontyclun Community Council

Taffs Well and Nantgarw Community Council