

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

8th MAY 2024

SOUTH EAST WALES CORPORATE JOINT COMMITTEE

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, DEMOCRATIC SERVICES & COMMUNICATION.

1. <u>PURPOSE OF THE REPORT</u>

- 1.1 To seek nominations to the following committees of the South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee (CJC):
 - Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee 2 Non-Executive Members (1 substantive, 1 deputy)
 - Governance & Audit Sub-Committee 1 Non-Executive Member
 - Regional Transport Sub-Committee 1 Executive Member
 - Strategic Development Sub-Committee 1 Executive Member

2. <u>RECOMMENDATIONS</u>

It is recommended that Council:

- 2.1 Determines its nominations to the Corporate Joint Committee Sub-Committees for the 2024-2025 Municipal Year in-line with the requirements, as set out in the report, for the following sub committees:
 - Governance & Audit Sub-Committee 1 Non-Executive Member
 - Regional Transport Sub-Committee 1 Executive Member
 - Strategic Development Sub-Committee 1 Executive Member
- 2.2 Notes that the South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee AGM is to be held on the 3rd June 2024.
- 2.3 Determines its nominations for two Non-Executive Members to the South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee, Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee for the 2024/2025 Municipal Year.

3. BACKGROUND

- 3.1 In 2021, the Senedd Cymru passed the following legislation:
 - Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021, Part 5 (Collaborative Working by Principal Councils) of which provides the Welsh Ministers with the ability to establish a Corporate Joint Committee; and
 - The South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee Regulations 2021, Part 1 (Establishment and area) of which establishes a body corporate to be known as the South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee for the region ("the CJC").
 - The South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee, comprises the Leaders of the ten constituent local authorities.
- 3.2 Following the implementation of a transition plan for the City Deal to be taken into the governance arrangements of the CJC, the CCR Regional Cabinet considered the proposed governance structure of the CJC which includes the afore-mentioned sub-committees.
- 3.3 Each of the CJC's 10 Constituent Councils is now being asked to appoint to the three sub-committees of the South-East Wales Corporate Joint Committee (CJC) in advance of the CJC AGM, as follows:
- 3.4 Council is asked to determine its nominations for the newly established South-East Wales Corporate Joint Committee, Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee (JOSC)

South-East Wales Corporate Joint Committee, Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee for the 2024/2025 Municipal Year.

- 3.5 Each local authority must appoint one substantive member of the JOSC, and also a deputy member, who will only be able to exercise a vote of the constituent local authority, in the absence of the substantive member. For continuity reasons, deputy members are invited to attend each meeting, alongside the substantive local authority appointment.
- 3.6 It is a matter for the South-East Wales Corporate Joint Committee, Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee to appoint a chair and vice chair from the membership of the 10 constituent Local Authorities represented, at their first meeting of the municipal year

CJC Governance and Audit Sub-Committee

3.7 It is proposed that there are to be 15 members of the CJC's Governance and Audit Sub-Committee, including **one non-executive member from each of the CJC's 10 Constituent Councils** and 5 lay members. Members of the Governance and Audit Sub-Committee may not also be members of another of the CJC's sub-committees.

CJC Regional Transport Sub-Committee

3.8 The CJC's Regional Transport Sub-Committee is to be comprised of 12 Members, including **the Executive Member with responsibility for Transport from each of the 10 Constituent Councils** and 2 non-voting Members of the CJC, nominated annually, who will act as the Sub-Committee's Chair and Deputy Chair.

CJC Strategic Development Sub-Committee

- 3.9 The CJC's Strategic Development Sub-Committee is to be comprised of 13 Members, including **the Executive Member with responsibility for Planning from each of the 10 Constituent Councils**, a member appointed by the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority and 2 non-voting Members of the CJC, nominated annually, who will act as the Sub-Committee's Chair and Deputy Chair. This sub-committee will be invited to sit as a working group initially to discuss and further develop its future work plan.
- 3.10 Each of the sub-committees has its own terms of reference as set out in the South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee Constitution.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972

AS AMENDED BY

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (ACCESS TO INFORMATION) ACT 1985

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

8th MAY 2024

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, DEMOCRATIC SERVICES & COMMUNICATION.

Background Papers

SOUTH EAST WALES CORPORATE JOINT COMMITTEE

Freestanding Matter