

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL AUDIT COMMITTEE

Minutes of the virtual meeting of the Audit Committee meeting held on Monday, 28 September 2020 at 5.00 pm.

County Borough Councillors - Audit Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor K Jones
Councillor A Cox
Councillor M Powell
Councillor M Norris
Councillor S Rees
Councillor R Yeo
Councillor G Caple
Councillor M Adams
Councillor G Davies
Councillor D Owen-Jones
Councillor S Powell
Councillor J Harries

Lay Member – Mr C Jones

Officers in attendance

Mr A Wilkins, Director of Legal Services

Mr C Hanagan, Service Director of Democratic Services & Communication

Mr P Griffiths, Service Director – Finance & Improvement Services

Mr M Thomas - Head of Regional Internal Audit Service

Ms L Cumpston, Group Audit Manager

Mr C Rees - Audit Wales

1 Welcomes and Apologies

The Director, Legal Services welcomed attendees to the meeting and apologies for absence were received from County Borough Councillors J. Cullwick and L. De Vet.

2 Declaration of Interest

In accordance with the Council's Code of Conduct, there were no declarations made pertaining to the agenda.

3 Appointment of Chair

The Director, Legal Services reminded Members of the requirements of paragraph 9.4 of the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011 in relation to the appointment of the Chair of the Audit Committee. It was explained that the Committee Members themselves decide upon the Chair and it can be a Councillor or a Lay Member, but cannot be a Councillor who belongs to a group with Members in the Executive.

With this in mind, the Director, Legal Services sought nominations for the position and it was **RESOLVED** that County Borough Councillor G Davies be elected as Chairman of the Audit Committee for the Municipal Year 2020/21.

4 Appointment of Vice-Chair

The Director, Legal Services sought nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Audit Committee for the Municipal Year 2020/21. It was **RESOLVED** that Mr C Jones, Lay Member, be elected as Vice-Chair of the Audit Committee for the Municipal Year 2020/21.

5 Minutes

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 20th July 2020 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

6 Urgent Business

Members took the opportunity to extend their thanks to Mr R. Hull for his service as Chair and Lay Member to the Audit Committee; praising his efficient Chairing skills and years of commitment.

It was **RESOLVED** to send a letter of thanks to Mr R Hull from the Audit Committee.

This meeting closed at 5.10 pm

Cllr G Davies Chairman.