RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Standards Committee held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Cambrian Park, Clydach Vale on Friday, 8th December, 2017 at 10.30 a.m.

PRESENT

Independent Members

Mr.M.Jehu,MBE (Chair) Mr.J.Thomas

County Borough Councillor

E.Webster

Officers in Attendance

Mr.C.B.Jones – Monitoring Officer Mr.A.Wilkins – Deputy Monitoring Officer Ms.K.May – Head of Democratic Services

1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor M.Forey.

2 WELCOME

The Chair welcomed both Mr.J.Thomas and County Borough Councillor E.Webster to their first meeting of this Committee.

3 DECLARATIONS OF ITNEREST

RESOLVED – to note that there were no declarations of interest made at the meeting pertaining to the agenda.

4 MINUTES

RESOLVED – to approve as accurate records the minutes of the following meetings of the Standards Committee:-

- 9th December, 2016
- 10th January, 2017
- 15th March, 2017

5 MATTERS ARISING

(1) With reference to Minute No.10 of the meeting of the Standards Committee held on the 9th December, 2016, the Monitoring Officer advised Members of the outcome of the interviews that had taken place recently for the positions of two Independent Members (plus reserves) and one Community Council representative (plus reserve) to sit on the Standards Committee.

He reported that Mr.J.Thomas, who was in attendance at today's meeting had been successfully appointed to the position as an Independent Member and that Community Councillor R.Butler(Llantwit Fardre) had been re-appointed with Community Councillor C.Willis (Pontyclun) being appointed as the Reserve. An advertisement would be placed in the new year for an Independent Member (plus reserve) as there were no other successful candidates to fill these two posts.

(2) With reference to Minute No.15 of the meeting of the Standards Committee held on the 9th December, 2016, it was **RESOLVED** – that when the vacant position of Independent Member (plus reserve) is filled, arrangements be made for the commissioning of joint training for Members of the Standards Committees of both Merthyr Tydfil and Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Councils; and in particular the delivery of a `Mock Hearing`.

6 <u>APPLICATION FOR DISPENSATION – COUNTY BOROUGH</u> COUNCILLOR P.JARMAN

In his report, the Monitoring Officer reported on the application that had been received from County Borough Councillor P.Jarman for dispensation to speak and vote on all matters for the duration and adoption of the 2018-19 budget process in her capacity as Leader of an Opposition Group.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** –

- 1. to grant County Borough Councillor P.Jarman a dispensation to speak and vote on all matters for the duration and adoption of the 2018-19 budget process in her capacity as Leader of an Opposition Group;
- 2. To acknowledge that Councillor Jarman's son works in the Streetcare Department and lives with her at her home address and she therefore be granted dispensation to speak and vote on all services affected by the Budget.

7 APLICATION FOR DISPENSATION – COUNTY BOROUGN COUNCILLOR R.BEVAN

In his report, the Monitoring Officer outlined an application that had been received from County Borough Councillor R.Bevan for dispensation to speak and vote on all matters relating to the Community and Children's Services Group, save for any specific matters that directly affect his daughter who is

employed by the Council in the Community and Children's Services Group as the Service Manager for Access and Enablement.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** – to grant County Borough Councillor R.Bevan a dispensation to speak and vote on all matters relating to the Community and Children's Services Group, save for any specific matters that directly affect his daughter, who is employed by the Council in the Community and Children's Services Group as the Service Manager for Access and Enablement, with such dispensation being reviewed by the Standards Committee on an annual basis.

M.JEHU, MBE CHAIR

The meeting closed at 10.55 a.m.